Covering youth soccer in the U.S.

Wisconsin Girls POY: Josee Stiever

In its 28th year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, today announced Josee Stiever of Cedarburg High School as its 2012-13 Gatorade Wisconsin Girls Soccer Player of the Year. Stiever is the first Gatorade Wisconsin Girls Soccer Player of the Year to be chosen from Cedarburg High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Stiever as Wisconsin’s best high school girls soccer player.

The 5-foot-6 senior midfielder led the Bulldogs to a 9-3 record entering this week’s regular-season contest with Milwaukee Lutheran, scheduled for May 21. Stiever scored five goals and passed for seven assists through 12 games. The state’s returning Gatorade Girls Soccer Player of the Year, she is an All-American selection by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. Stiever is also a two-time First Team All-State honoree and was the Wisconsin Coaches Association Player of the Year in 2012.

Stiever has maintained a 3.83 GPA in the classroom. She has volunteered locally serving meals to the homeless and coaching youth sports teams.

“Stiever controls the game and makes other players better,” said Robert Williams, head coach at Whitefish Bay High. “She sees the field very well and makes sound decisions.”

Stiever signed a National Letter of Intent to play soccer on scholarship at the University of Minnesota this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Two-time winner Stiever joins Gatorade Wisconsin Girls Soccer Players of the Year Morgan LaPlant (2010 – 11, La Follette High School), Alex Melin (2009-10, Verona Area), Taylor Madigan (2008–09 Waunakee), Laurel Ragalie (2007-08, Bradford), and Jennifer Baumann (2006-2007, Catholic Memorial) among the state’s list of former award winners.


Tagged as: , ,

Categorised in: News, Prep Girls, Wisconsin news

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: